A life-changing principle: Die empty

Some time ago I’ve shared with you a list of ten remarkable podcasts you should listen to. In that list I included the Accidental Creative podcast.

Well, yesterday on my way to a meeting I decided to listen to one particular episode which, at the time, I was not aware it would give me a new concept that seriously had a big impact on me.

In this episode Todd Henry, Founder of Accidental Creative, shared what he calls “the overarching principle that really fuels everything else about my life“.

This principle is one simple phrase: “Die Empty”

Here is the idea:

Your only job each and everyday is to “empty yourself”. To get whatever is in you, out of you to do your daily work. To leave nothing unspoken, uncreated, unwritten, undone. In other words, to divest yourself of whatever is inside of you.

In this podcast he also shared a story that really shows the big picture of this principle:

Do you know what the most valuable land in the world is? … Perhaps the diamond mines in Africa or the oil fields in the Middle East? …. NO, it’s a graveyard, because with all those people are buried unlived dreams, unwritten novels, masterpieces not created, businesses not started, relationships not reconciled … that is the most valuable land in the world.

So … when you die (because that is the reality, you will die someday), the question is: Would you die full of your unused ideas or would you die empty?. It is your own choice.

I must admit that this principle really hit me. It made me realized of how important is to give your 100% everyday!, doing work that matters and creating and implementing ideas that could have an impact on other people’s lives.

And by the way, this is not just about work! This includes your family. Something that happened when I got back home last night was that I went straight to my daughter and told her one important thing that I have been wanting to tell her for sometime. This time I did not leave it for later. I took it “out of me” … and as a result I not only feel better, but I know I have contributed something important to her life.

So … I have two actions for you:

1. Listen to this particular episode (and if you like it I strongly recommend you to subscribe and listen to this remarkable podcast regularly).

2. Think about it and ask yourself: When you go to bed at night, are you leaving something unspoken, uncreated, unwritten, undone …? If that is the case, do not let more time go by and take it out of you!. Trust me, you will not only be glad you did, but you will be on your way to build a very fulfilling life.

Photo credit: freetrader

7 responses to “A life-changing principle: Die empty

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A life-changing principle: Die empty | Ivan Hernandez -- Topsy.com

  2. doris antonia egli

    Hi Yvan
    The way I felt during the last weeks coming back from Nepal. Now I decided to stand up and do what I wanted to do. On 7th Feb I will be flying to Kathmandu and open my little NGO flyhigh53.
    I worked so hard on it and it’s important that I try at least.
    Will be back in Switzerland beginning of May 2011.
    Take care and all the best
    Namaste and best regards
    doris antonia egli
    flyhigh53

  3. Pingback: Gone to soon | Ivan Hernandez

  4. Pingback: Gone too soon | Ivan Hernandez

  5. Pingback: Life Is Short. - Transforme | The Kickstart Business For Changing Your Lifestyle, Starting Your Own Business or Succeeding in Your Career

  6. Pingback: Creativity Under Pressure | Ivan Hernandez

Leave a comment