Team Hoyt: Love, courage and devotion – Get Inspired! series

In this episode of the Get Inspired! series, I want to share with you a love story. No, I am not going to share with you a Mexican “telenovela”, but an incredible example of love, courage and devotion.

I am talking about Dick and Rick Hoyt, better know as Team Hoyt. A father and son who compete together in marathons and triathlons across the US. Here is the thing: Rick is a spastic quadriplegic with cerebral palsy.

This means that for over 1,000 races completed, including more than 65 marathons, 22 duathlons and more than 230 triathlons (6 of them being Ironman competitions!), Dick Hoyt has pulled, pushed and carried his son over the course of every single race, so he can have a better life.

I told you it was a love story.

Enjoy!

I am blessed with two amazing children, and watching this video and getting to know more about this remarkable team, really put things on perspective for me.

The great thing is that you don’t need to be a parent to get inspired by the Team Hoyt’s story. You don’t have to go out there and run marathons or take pat on Ironman competitions. You can simply work on being the best person you can be, do things that matter and to really have an impact on other people’s lives.

And if you happen to be a parent, well, I guess it all comes down to Dick Hoyt’s words:

“I just love my family and I just want to be the very best father I can be”.


Share

One response to “Team Hoyt: Love, courage and devotion – Get Inspired! series

  1. Pingback: Inspiration is everywhere | Ivan Hernandez

Leave a Reply

